Sew Content

I'm just sewing out my stress.

Father’s Day Giveaway June 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — quiltytherapy @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about my gma and how she has been a huge influence in my life.  I’m also blessed to have wonderful parents.  With Father’s Day this weekend, I though it would be great to have a giveaway based on that. 

The giveaway item will be a stash of fat quarters.  Not sure what they are until Friday, sorry.  My quilt store is having Fat Quarter Frenzy starting on Friday.  I’m going to create a great set just for my readers. 

Here’s the rules:

  • Leave a comment on a story about your Dad, Grandpa, Uncle, whomever has been important between now and Sunday. 
  • My coworkers will pick their favorite one on Monday morning. 
  • A winner will be announced on Monday afternoon. 

I’ll go first.

My husband notes that I’m oddly like my father.  Some days he even calls me “Danny”, especially when my temper comes out.  Without my father though, I would not be the strong woman I am today.  He taught me to stand up for myself and what’s right. 

One of my favorite memories of him was many years ago.  It’s so simple, yet so him.  It’s a Saturday morning and my mom is making breakfast.  Dad and I are gearing up for the day and listening to the radio.  A song comes on it’s the one that starts off, “A Har Har Har” guitar rift.  He busted out an air guitar and blasts the music.  It was like he was a teenager again.  Hilarious!! 

Here is a photo of my dad and I at my wedding.  He was an emotional mess and loss a bet.  It was a $100 bet on if he would cry befor handing me off to my hubby.  He so did and he paid up at the reception.

 

5 Responses to “Father’s Day Giveaway”

  1. Penny Says:

    Some of my earliest memories are of my Daddy. I was his little tom-boy. He took me fishing, taught me how to put a worm on a hook, scale & gut a fish..by the time I was about 7. I learned my numbers & how to add by scoring the boxing rounds of ‘Gillette’s Friday Night Fights’.
    When I began to show an interest in art & started drawing, he would take my pictures along with him in his lunchbox to Kaiser Aluminum, where he worked, to show them to his buddies. When we went driving in the country, he’d let me have a turn driving the car…must have been 11-12 years old at that point. Learned to use the stick shift of our black VW Karmen Ghia.
    When I turned out to be a girl, we drifted away, and never did regain the closeness. But I have those memories, I’ll cherish, of my Daddy, ‘Johnnie’ Johnson.
    Penny

  2. Shelley C Says:

    I was a quiet reserved little girl and back in those days, daddy was the bread winner and didn’t have that much interaction with the kids. I had 5 brothers and 1 sister. My favorite part of my Dad that I remember was the rumbling in his chest when he would sing to us….I would lay on his chest and just listen. His lunch hours were short, so this didn’t last long…but I sure miss the sound of his rumbling chest today….and the song he sang most was of limpy or stumpy going where all cowboys go….that is a very early memory. He died before my children could ever know him or he them and I wish he was here today to be a part of our lives…

  3. Danielle Says:

    My dad has always been the quiet one out of my parents. My mom is a very strong willed german woman and rules the house. My dad is a 6 foot gentleman that would never harm a soul. My greatest memories of my dad is the fact that he taught me about nature and animals and how precious they are to us. I would bring home every stray and hurt animal and my dad would show me how to nurse it back to health and set it free. Granted we were not always able to save every animal I brought home but we sure tried. He taught me that death does happen and it is not a scary thing when I would not be able to save something. At least I gave it love in its last few days. As a parent today I do the same with my kids. We have brought many animals home to nurse to health and also love them as they die. My mom and dad are a huge part in my life still and get with them as often as possible.

  4. Terry Mac Says:

    I am the oldest of two children, 10 years apart. My Dad was rarely home as I was growing up, philandering as assusmed. My sister was an attempt to get back together, so he doted on her and I was left out. Subsequently, my step-grandad is the one that has had the most influence on my life.
    As a child, he took my grandmother and me everywhere he travelled. Mostly short trips, as he worked for a newspaper. The life experiences I was exposed impacted me, shaping many of my liberal, and 60’s views. (One trip visiting Shuswap Indians had me become blood brother to the chief’s son!)
    Even though Bill died relatively young, I still feel his presence with me today, guiding me and still shaping many of my thoughts and reactions to what is going on in this world.
    I definitely caught his ‘photography’ bug, and have stacks of photos to prove it! My grandmother’s love of quilting and embrodery are second. (She was always working on something on these 2-4 hour car trips, and taught me right along with her.)

  5. Lynn Damewood Says:

    My father died when I was 19, so I didn’t know him as an adult, and certainly didn’t feel I was old enough to survive this life without his guidance, but I did. He believed in women being able to be independent, survive on their own if they should need to. Women should be able to have a career and life outside the home, should they choose to. A man ahead of his times in his thoughts and beliefs, since I was born in 1952, those thoughts were unusual for that time. But that is how he raised me, and the legacy he left me.


Leave a Reply

